There's always this:
http://catalog.microsoft.com/genuine/purchase/UpdateInstructions.aspx
Legitimately lets you update your product key if you have an incorrect one
or are restoring a cloned drive and need to set the product key to the
correct and legal one for that box.
-Todd
Union
> -----Original Message-----
> From: owner-ds(at)Softimage.COM [mailto:owner-ds(at)Softimage.COM] On Behalf Of
> Sylvain Labrosse
> Sent: Monday, November 07, 2005 07:42
> To: DS(at)Softimage.COM
> Subject: RE: Cloning system drives
>
> The Avid DS Recovery image image is actually made with Norton Ghost, so
> this part works. What we do additionally as a manufacturer is run a
> Microsoft preparation file to reset some component, including the Product
> Key field. This way, customers must type in their own specific Product
> Key to legitimate Windows XP to Microsoft.
>
> If you clone your drive, you'll apply the same Product Key on both systems
> and that could cause you some problems when you update the operating
> system from the Microsoft servers or contact their support line.
>
> Sylvain Labrosse
> Avid DS Support
> Escalation team
> http://www.softimage.com/avidds
> Check The Learning Collection
>
>
>
> ________________________________
>
> From: owner-ds(at)Softimage.COM [mailto:owner-ds(at)Softimage.COM] On Behalf Of
> Rob Rohlman
> Sent: Monday, November 07, 2005 10:14 AM
> To: DS Group
> Subject: Cloning system drives
>
>
> We have 2 identical DS boxes and are upgrading to 7.6 from 6.1. I have
> upgraded one box and am wondering if I can clone the system drive, perhaps
> with Norton Ghosting software, and use that cloned drive in the second
> box, to make the upgrade process faster, and insure that the machines
> remain identical. I know that I will have to change license files, but I
> am unsure about AVID drive issues, or who knows what. Anyone try this?
>
>
> Robert Rohlman
> Senior AVID DS/HD Editor
> The Film Foundry
> 1930 Camden St. Suite 2070
> Charlotte, North Carolina 28203
> 704-331-9292
---
Subscribe? E-mail Majordomo(at)Softimage.COM with the following text in body: subscribe ds
Unsubscribe? E-Mail Majordomo(at)Softimage.COM with the following text in body: unsubscribe ds