Re: Spam or virus?

Date : Thu, 06 Apr 2006 23:22:50 +0200
To : XSI(at)Softimage.COM
From : "Thomas Helzle" <xsi(at)screendream.de>
Subject : Re: Spam or virus?
Yes, same here.
Some new kind of mailinglist spamming?
Or a missleaded "I'm out of town" message?

Or is it the equivalent to "more Cowbell" in spanish :-)
With that conversation, I got the first one....

Cheers,

Thomas Helzle

On Thu, 06 Apr 2006 23:07:26 +0200, Joey Ponthieux <j.g.ponthieux(at)LaRC.NASA.GOV> wrote:

Ok, I'm not really sure whats going on here but everytime I send an
email to the XSI list, I get a private reply from the following address

Espiritu VFX" <vfx_list(at)fibertel.com.ar>


However, upon looking at the mail further, there is an attachment with the following email address included

<nacho.gorfinkiel(at)nonstoptv.tv>

what follows this is unreadable for me as it is all in spanish.

I get this reply everytime I send a mail to XSI(at)Softimage.com, whether
it is a reply to teh list or a new mail. It started with my earlier
script question, it now occurrs for every mail sent to the list. I
recognize the Espiritu VFX addy as one I have seen on the list before,
but I can find only one posting from this addy on the list since
January. I assume this individual has been the unsuspecting recipient of
a virus, so I am reluctant to contact him directly for fear of making
this problem worse. Espiritu VFX may not even be aware of this behavior.
Is anyone else on the list getting this?



---
Unsubscribe? Mail Majordomo(at)Softimage.COM with the following text in body:
unsubscribe xsi

  • References:
    • Spam or virus?
      • From: Joey Ponthieux <j.g.ponthieux(at)LaRC.NASA.GOV>

Search the XSI List archives here or use the advanced search form to search across mailing lists. Searching help is available.
This site supposedly brought to you by Benjamin Grosser and the Imaging Technology Group.