As I said on the initial email, it's an antivirus called "NOD32". In
my experience, I haven't had any false positives with it yet.
The mystery site apparently tried to make me download an .exe, then in
case that didn't work, attempted to load a malicious piece of Java
from a second domain, coripastares.com. I have a funky feeling if I
had been on IE, it'd probably execute it.
The .jar, I presume, would install nasty things on the host machine.
Here's an online virus scan that works with urls:
http://online.drweb.com/
Go there and paste this url: http://coripastares.com/ms03011.jar
(and please be careful not to run this link accidentaly)
It says:
In file >ms03011.jar/MagicApplet.class found virus VBS.Siggen.1989
In file >ms03011.jar/OwnClassLoader.class found virus Exploit.ByteVerify
In file >ms03011.jar/ProxyClassLoader.class found virus Exploit.ByteVerify
In file >ms03011.jar/Installer.class found virus VBS.Siggen.5970
Alternatively, you are welcome to download the file yourself and run
it through multiple antiviruses:
http://virusscan.jotti.org/ (scans using multiple engines. pretty neat.)
http://www.kaspersky.com/scanforvirus (Kaspersky rarely, if ever, has
false positives.)
Cheers,
-- Alan
On Feb 12, 2008 2:03 AM, kim aldis <xsi(at)kim-aldis.co.uk> wrote:
> Yup, you're right. Something had found its way into the site's main template
> file. I'm not sure if it's always been there or if it's been hacked, the
> template page was a copy of a Joomla template.
>
> I can't find any reference to this site using google. Browsing to the link
> using a virtual machine browser redirects immediately to google.
>
> My virus checker didn't pick up on it, which one do you use?
>
>
>
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: owner-xsi(at)Softimage.COM [mailto:owner-xsi(at)Softimage.COM] On
> > Behalf Of kim aldis
> > Sent: 12 February 2008 09:49
> > To: XSI(at)Softimage.COM
> > Subject: RE: [OT] Hey Kim, is your site hijacked to load virus? Please
> > confirm..
> >
> > Thanks Alan, just checking it out now.
> >
> >
>
>
> ---
>
> Unsubscribe? Mail Majordomo(at)Softimage.COM with the following text in body:
> unsubscribe xsi
>
---
Unsubscribe? Mail Majordomo(at)Softimage.COM with the following text in body:
unsubscribe xsi