Re: [OT] Hey Kim, is your site hijacked to load virus? Please confirm..

Date : Tue, 12 Feb 2008 16:14:21 -0800
To : XSI(at)Softimage.COM
From : "Alan Fregtman" <alan.fregtman(at)gmail.com>
Subject : Re: [OT] Hey Kim, is your site hijacked to load virus? Please confirm..
Just wanna say that in my experience, the best AVs I've had are
Kaspersky's and NOD32.

Kaspersky seems to be the undisputable king at detecting the most
viruses/malware (with little to no false positives at all) and staying
extremely up to date (every 3 hours, in fact), but NOD32 closely
follows after it (updating a few times a day and rarely having false
positives), with the extra bonus of using minuscule system
resources...

NOD32 running (idle) on my laptop right now is using just 22Mb of my
precious 2Gb. Kaspersky uses a little more (as do most other AVs), and
I always want to have as much ram free as I can spare for things like
XSI.

For my laptop, I am in love NOD32 for its lightweight use of
resources. That's all I have to say. :)

A good report on % of viruses detected by a variety of AVs is here:
http://www.virus.gr/portal/en/node/28
(Don't let the domain scare you: it's a site dedicated to being
protected, not spreading stuff.)
Every few months they do a new report using their massive private
collection of samples and report on who detected best.  (Isn't it sad
to see the ever-so-popular Norton at #21? Sheesh!)

Hope AVG updates the definitions to detect that malware that appeared
on your template.
Cheers,

   -- Alan


On Feb 12, 2008 9:49 AM, kim aldis <xsi(at)kim-aldis.co.uk> wrote:
> That would be my best bet too.
>
> I've googled around, there's precious little about this on the net other
> than some references to bannerware. I'm taking this up with AVG, which
> didn't pick it up on my setup - as has nothing else to my knowledge either.
> Possibly you've  found something new.
>
> And thanks once again for the heads up.
>
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: owner-xsi(at)Softimage.COM [mailto:owner-xsi(at)Softimage.COM] On
> > Behalf Of Alan Fregtman
> > Sent: 12 February 2008 10:49
> > To: XSI(at)Softimage.COM
> > Subject: Re: [OT] Hey Kim, is your site hijacked to load virus? Please
> > confirm..
> >
> > As for the link redirecting automatically to google, may i say it's
> > easy enough to have php redirect based on the HTTP "Referer" header.
> >
>
>
>
> ---
> Unsubscribe? Mail Majordomo(at)Softimage.COM with the following text in body:
> unsubscribe xsi
>
---
Unsubscribe? Mail Majordomo(at)Softimage.COM with the following text in body:
unsubscribe xsi


Search the XSI List archives here or use the advanced search form to search across mailing lists. Searching help is available.
This site supposedly brought to you by Benjamin Grosser and the Imaging Technology Group.